Jump to Navigation

What should I do first to get workers' compensation benefits?

Getting hurt on the job is a complicated situation. Injuries often lead to medical bills, and paying those bills can be impossible when injury victims are out of work. Some people may even contemplate returning to work before they are fully recovered. There is another option. In Tennessee, injured workers can use workers' compensation benefits to help address the financial aspect of being hurt.

An injured worker must tell his or her employer about a work-related injury within 30 days of it happening. However, an injured worker should always prioritize seeking medical care first. Once a worker does report the injury, his or her boss must inform the workers' compensation insurance company within one day. A victim may also receive a list of providers authorized for treatment. 

The insurance company has only 14 days to either start workers' comp payments or deny the claim. A victim has several options for disputing a denied claim. However, these options can be complicated and time-consuming. There are also several strict deadlines which a victim must meet, and missing even one can have devastating consequences.

Workers in Tennessee usually take pride in their work, and being out of commission because of an injury can be both physically and emotionally traumatizing. Workers' compensation benefits can help victims address these damages by providing temporary wage benefits, covering medical bills and much more. Families of victims who were fatally injured at work can even receive survivors' benefits. Getting those benefits is not always easy though, so speaking with an experienced attorney may be helpful.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact Us Today!

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Logan-Thompson, P.C., Attorneys at Law
30 2nd St NW
Cleveland, TN 37311

Phone: 423-716-6261
Toll free: 800-506-8012
Fax: 423-472-0211
Cleveland Law Office Map

FB